Elected Officials and Local Law Enforcement Co-Host the First Walk of 2018

Today’s blog is written by Louise Fagan, member of the HC50 Steering Group.

For the second year, Spartanburg County challenges residents to become more physically active. The HealthyCommunity50 (HC50) steering group is organizing four Walk with Your Elected Official events. In 2018 we will encourage more participation by partnering with different sectors in the community. On Saturday, February 17, elected officials will walk with residents in their communities. This first walk spotlights local law enforcement, giving residents, elected officials and law enforcement an opportunity to engage in a healthy and positive environment.

Walks will take place at eight locations throughout Spartanburg County. All walks begin at 10 a.m.

• City of Spartanburg: Beginning at the Mary Black Foundation Rail Trailhead next to II Samuels, 351 E. Henry Street, Spartanburg, SC 29302
• Greer: Beginning at the Fountain at Greer City Park, 301 E. Poinsett Street, Greer, SC 29651
• Inman: Beginning at Inman City Hall, 20 S. Main Street, Inman, SC 29349
• Landrum: Brookwood Park, S. Bomar Ave., Landrum, SC 29356
• Lyman: Beginning at Lyman Town Hall, 81 Groce Road, Lyman, SC 29365
• Pacolet: Beginning at Middle School of Pacolet, 850 Sunny Acres Road, Pacolet, SC 29372
• Woodruff: Beginning at Humble Grounds Coffee Shop, 132 South Main Street, Woodruff, SC 29388
• Added this year! Boiling Springs: Beginning at Va-Du-Mar McMillan Park, 591 McMillin Boulevard, Boiling Springs, SC 29316

Join your elected officials, chiefs of police, and Sheriff Chuck Wright as we walk together towards a healthy 2018!

The HC50 Challenge, a partnership between the Aetna Foundation, the American Public Health Association and the National Association of Counties, encourages small and mid-sized cities, counties, and federally-recognized tribes to implement health innovations and data-driven solutions. At the conclusion of the Challenge, the programs most able to show measurable change will be eligible for prize awards from $25,000 – $500,000. For more information, visit www.healthiestcities.org.